EU forces notaries to compete for business

Seven European Union countries are to be forced to open the notary profession to outside competition after a ruling Tuesday by the bloc's highest court.

The European Commission took Belgium, France, Luxembourg, Austria, Germany, Greece and Portugal to the EU Court of Justice for preventing citizens from other EU countries from acting as notaries in their territory.

The EU court said any 'nationality condition' restricting access to the profession to home nationals 'constitutes discrimination on grounds of nationality prohibited by the (EU) treaty.'

It said that countries concerned by the ruling must amend their legislation 'without delay,' or face the risk of further court action, resulting in heavy fines.

Source:  M&C